The Shri Ram School

IGCSE Programme


(International General Certificate of Secondary Education Programme)
The Cambridge IGCSE programme is offered to students of Grades 9 and 10 at The Shri Ram School, Moulsari Campus. IGCSE is a balanced and academically challenging education programme that prepares students for success at university and life beyond. Designed to address the intellectual, social, emotional and physical well-being of students, it offers a comprehensive approach to education.
IGCSE is a balanced curriculum offering a flexible course of study. It encourages high academic standards through a practical approach to teaching and learning. It goes beyond conventional written exams, incorporating a variety of assessments such as oral and listening tests. Continuous comprehensive evaluation is implemented to monitor students’ progress effectively.
The Cambridge IGCSE develops learner knowledge, understanding and skills in: 
  • Subject content 
  • Applying knowledge and understanding to new as well as unfamiliar situations 
  • Intellectual enquiry 
  • Flexibility and responsiveness to change 
  • Working and communicating in English 
  • Influencing outcomes 
  • Cultural awareness


At The Shri Ram School, students will opt for a total of 9 subjects that can be selected as follows:
The two compulsory subjects are: 
  • English Language 
  • English Literature
The other seven subjects are chosen as follows (details mentioned in the table below): 
  • One subject each from Groups 1 to 5, and 
  • Any two additional subjects from Groups 2, 3, 5.
The other subjects offered for choice are:
Groups Subjects
Group 1 – Languages
Hindi, French, Spanish
Group 2 – Humanities
History, Geography, Economics, Global Perspectives, Environmental Management
Group 3 – Sciences
Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Environmental Management
Group 4 – Mathematics
Extended Mathematics, International Mathematics
Group 5 – Creative & Vocational
Business Studies, Art & Design, Design & Technology, Computer Science, Drama, Global Perspectives
In Grade 10, the students will take the IGCSE assessment in the March series (Except for Drama and Design & Technology which are held in the June series). The IGCSE is graded on an 8-point scale from A* to G.

The Cambridge examination board offers the Cambridge ICE (International Certificate of Education) certification for candidates who attempt 7 to 9 subjects and pass in atleast 7 subjects as per the following criteria:

  • At least 2 subjects from Group 1 (this includes English Language)
  • At least one subject each from Groups 2 to 5.

Students who qualify for ICE are placed in one of the following three categories:

  • Distinction – Grade A or better in five subjects and Grade C or better in two subjects
  • Merit – Grade C or better in five subjects and Grade F or better in two subjects
  • Pass – Grade G or better in seven subjects
Scroll to Top